Shape-memory polymers (SMPs) can be deformed and fixed in defined temporary shapes, which significantly differ their original shape and remain unchanged until exposed to appropriate stimuli. This stimulus-responsive effect can be triggered not only by heat but also by e.g. electricity or moisture. Furthermore an initiation by light (NIR), alternating magnetic fields or physiological stimuli enables externally triggerable effects allowing remote control in addition. For commercially relevant plastics the multiple-shape technology becomes interesting, where complex shape changes or movements on demand are required. Multimaterial approaches are followed as a strategy to achieve the capability of active movement to enhance the mechanical properties. In another approach additional functionalities are added in basic research for an application –driven development providing e.g. biofunctionality, and/or hydrolytic degradability beside the shape-memory functionality. The demands of the modern society determine the necessary spectrum of functionalities to be provided by the respective multifunctional materials. The reversible, bidirectional shape-memory effect of polymers offers a huge range of potential applications building a cornerstone for innovation in various fields. Intelligent and self-repairing plastic components in all kinds of technical devices will play a prominent role in future material science. Interdisciplinary approaches combining the expertise of chemists, physicists, biologists, pharmacologists, and materials engineers lead to innovative material concepts that will be presented, discussed and published, fostering the scientific exchange in a growing community.

Symposium Topics

  • Shape-memory polymers
  • Shape-memory hydrogels
  • Shape-memory composites
  • Multimaterial systems
  • Self-repairing materials
  • Applications in biomedicine
  • Applications in electronics
  • Applications in aerospace
  • Applications in consumer products

Invited Speakers

Dirk W. Grijpma, University of Twente, The Netherlands; Ernesto Rivera García, Instituto de Investigaciones en Materiales UNAM, México; Duncan J. Maitland, Texas A&M University, USA; Timothy F. Scott, Michigan University, USA; Nicola Tirelli, University of Manchester, UK; Walter E. Voit, The University of Texas, Dallas, USA; Christopher M. Yakacki, University of Colorado, Denver, USA; Jing Zhong, Harbin Institute of Technology, China