This symposium will provide a forum to address the fundamental and technological aspects of electrochemical energy storage devices. The future development of safe and efficient electrochemical energy storage systems is dependent on the discovery of new materials and charge storage mechanisms and advancement in understanding of electrochemical interfaces. Batteries beyond the conventional Li-ion batteries and electrochemical capacitors (ECs) beyond simple electric double layer capacitors (EDLCs) are urgently needed for energy storage applications ranging miniaturized devices and portable electronics to electric transportation and large-scale stationary applications. This symposium is focused on unconventional batteries and electrochemical capacitors, aqueous batteries, Lithium-sulfur and lithium-air batteries, sodium ion batteries, multivalent ion batteries, symmetrical and asymmetrical supercapacitors based on pseudo-capacitive materials. All abstracts related to these new technologies including discovery of new electrode materials, design and synthesis of advanced electrolytes, characterization of interfacial processes, understanding of charge storage mechanism, development of advanced characterization methods, and electrochemical modeling and multiscale simulations to analyze performance and safety aspects of these technologies are of interest to this symposium.

Symposium Topics

  • New anode and cathode materials for aqueous batteries
  • Materials for metal-sulfur and metal-air/oxygen batteries
  • Cathode materials for multivalent ion batteries
  • Development of electrolytes for multivalent ion batteries
  • Electrode/electrolyte interfaces
  • Symmetrical and asymmetrical supercapacitors
  • Advanced characterization techniques
  • Modeling and multiscale simulations
  • Utility-scale energy storage systems
  • Green materials and technologies

Invited Speakers

Yury Gogotsi (Drexel University, USA), Yan Yao (University of Houston, USA), Gleb Yushin (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA), Reza Shahbazian-Yassar (University of Illinois, Chicago, USA), Mihri Ozkan (Univ. of California, Riverside), Ali Coskun (KAIST, Republic of Korea), Nikhil Koratkar (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA), Bruce Dunn, (Univ. of California, Los Angeles), Brent Melot (University of Southern California, USA), Veronica Augustyn (North Carolina State University, USA), Amy Marschilok (Stony Brook University, USA), Dan Steingart (Princeton University, USA).