The aim of this symposium is to provide a multidisciplinary forum for the discussion of recent advances on synthesis, mechanical and microstructural characterization, design, simulation, and potential applications of High Entropy Alloys (HEA). This symposium is opened to (single phase) high entropy alloys as well as (multiphase) compositionally complex alloys based on HEA, and covers topics nano to microscale to understand the structure, phase formation rules, thermodynamics, kinetics, processing. The scope of this symposium is focused on various kinds of fundamental aspects, such as synthesis diverse routes (e.g. cast metallurgy, mechanical alloying), mechanical characterization (hardness, compression and tensile tests), microstructural characterization (optical and electron microscopy X-ray diffraction, XPS spectroscopy, Raman spectroscopy, etc.), electromagnetic properties, heat and thermomechanical treatments, prediction of microstructure and properties by simulation (density functional theory modeling (DFT), CALPHAD, and ab initio molecular dynamics (AIMD) modeling), but also on the design and potential applications of HEA. The symposium program will include oral and poster presentations.

Symposium Topics

  • Basic Research.
  • Synthesis
  • Nanostructured HEA,
  • Characterization
  • Mechanical, thermal, corrosion resistant and wear properties
  • Heat and thermo-mechanical treatments and phase stability,
  • Simulations of microstructure, properties, performance and their relationship,
  • Design and potential applications

Invited Speakers

Dan Miracle USA, Chris Woodward USA, Jean-Philippe Couzinie France, Stephane Gorsse France, Michael Gao USA, Raj Banerjee USA, Rajiv Mishra USA, Takeshi Egami USA, Ian Baker USA, Gennady Salishchev Russia, Marcus Young USA, Hamish Fraser USA, Hideyuki Murakami Japan, Hyong Seop Kim South Korea, Yi-Ping Lu China, Ravi Rankar Kottada India, Krishanu Biswas India, Jien-Wei Yeh Taiwan, E-Wen Huang Taiwan, Che-Wei Tsai Taiwan, C.T. Liu China, Ho Jin Ryu South Korea, Yong Liu China, Pan Ye China, Zhao-Ping Lu China, Yong Zhang China, Uwe Glatzel Germany, Easo George Germany