NANOMXCN (read: NANO-Mex-China) is a workshop series seeking to promote collaboration opportunities between Mexico and China, including Hong Kong. Importantly, however, collaborations Mexico-China supported by colleagues of other countries are needed and certainly encouraged and most welcomed: the workshop is open to all registered participants of the XXVI International Materials Research Congress (XXVI IMRC).

The first NANOMXCN workshop was held in Cancun, (15 - 16, Aug 2015) as part of the XXIV IMRC meeting while the second workshop was held in City University of Hong Kong (4 - 6 Dec 2016).  More information can be found at www.nanomxcn.com

The technical session of the workshop will focus on the use of nanostructured materials to address two critical issues of modern day society; namely the need to provide renewable energy and environmental remediation solutions. Self- assembled nanostructures offer unique opportunities such as increased surface to volume ratio and particle/quasi-particle confinement (including electrons, photons, plasmons, etc.) that give rise to powerful new opportunities to control and tailor the resulting material properties. Accordingly, they play a major role for rapid development of advanced proof-of-concept device applications. The scientific discussions will focus on the use of nanostructured system design for enhanced device performance by control of the nano- and micro- structure and composition of the materials involved in order to optimize their physical and chemical properties as well as their response to their working environments. This will include, for example, development of new synthesis and surface engineering methods - including in-situ characterization and control - for tailored self-assembled nanostructured materials with desired properties, computer modeling for optimization of nano- and micro- structure and composition, the resulting interfaces, and the device performance, and novel strategies to harness the advantages of nanotechnology approaches including enhanced surface-to-volume ratio, electronic, photonic, and plasmonic confinement.

For 2017, the workshop will include short sessions to share, and discuss ideas and specific actions proposed to promote collaboration opportunities between the interested parties.

Symposium Topics

The workshop focuses on the use of nanostructured materials for the development of environmentally friendly technologies for renewable energy and environmental remediation; this includes for example:

  • New synthesis and surface engineering methods for the fabrication of nanomaterials
  • Hierarchical nano-to-micro control of structure and composition
  • Energy harvesting and storage
  • Hard nanostructured surfaces for optical/optoelectronic applications
  • Corrosion resistant nanostructured surfaces with enhanced catalytic properties
  • Plasmonic effects for ultrasensitive detection of pollutants and photo-catalysis
  • Nanoporous surfaces and membranes
  • Nanotechnologies for environmental remediation
  • Water purification, desalination, and disinfection
  • Air purification, air and surfaces disinfection
  • Nanotoxicology
  • Advanced characterization and control of interfaces and device performance
  • Computer modeling for characterization and optimization of nano systems and devices

Invited Speakers

  • • Liu Minghua, Director General, National Center for Nanoscience and Technology (NCNST), CAS.
  • • Jun Li, Department of Chemistry, Tsinghua University, Personal website: www.junlilab.org
  • • Jian Lu, Vice President for Research, City University of Hong Kong. http://www.cityu.edu.hk/vprt/prof-jianlu-bio.htm
  • • Yan Li, Directora, Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Peking University http://www.chem.pku.edu.cn/liy/liyan.html
  • • Rongming WANG, Dean of the School of Math & Phys at University of Science and Technology Beijing, and Division of Nanomaterials and Nanodevices of C-MRS
  • • Prof, Guibin Jiang, Director, State Key Laboratory of environmental chemistry and ecological toxicology, General Director, Research Center for Eco-Environmental Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS).
  • • Jorge Gardea Torresdey, Dudley Professor of Chemistry and Environmental Science and Engineering, and current Chair of the Chemistry Department at The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP), Personal website: http://www.gardea.utep.edu
  • • Miguel García-Garibay Dean of UCLA Division of Physical Sciences http://www.chemistry.ucla.edu/directory/garcia-garibay-miguel
  • • Pedro Alvarez, Department Chair and George R. Brown Professor of Engineering, Rice University, USA
  • • C. P. Wong, Dean of Engineering, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR, China
  • • Yip-Wah CHUNG, Materials Science and Engineering and Mechanical Engineering, Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • • Chao-Jun LI, E. B. Eddy Chair of Chemistry, McGill University, Canada
  • • Jiesheng CHEN, Professor and Dean of the School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, PR China
  • • Leo W.M. LAU, Center for Green Innovation, University of Science & Technology Beijing, PR China
  • • Jianfang Wang, Department of Physics, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong SAR.
  • • Jinzhan Su, International Research Center for Renewable Energy, State Key Laboratory of Multiphase Flow in Power Engineering, Xian Jiaotong University
  • • Xiangdong Li, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong SAR.
  • • Wey Yang Teoh, City University of Hong Kong, , Hong Kong SAR.
  • • Wei Chen, College of Environmental Science and Energy, Nankai University, Tianjin, China
  • • Shiyuan Liu, School of Mechanical Science and Engineering, Huazhong University of Science and Technology,
  • • Antonio del Rio Portilla, Director del Instituto de Energias Renovables, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
  • • Rodolfo Zanella Specia,Center for Applied Sciences and Technological Development (CCADET), UNAM, Mexico
  • • Elder de la Rosa Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica (CIO), Leon Mexico
  • • Ignacio Garzon, Physics Institute, UNAM, Mexico
  • • Carlos Amador-Bedolla, Department of Physics and Theoretical Chemistry, UNAM, Mexico
  • • Arnulfo Albores Medina, Depto de Toxicology, CINVESTAV Zacatenco, México
  • • Gerko Oskam, Dept. Applied Physics, CINVESTAV Merida, México
  • • Refugio Rodríguez Vázquez, Biotechnology and Bioengineering Department, CINVESTAV Zacatenco, México
  • • Luis Fuentes-Cobas, Materials Physics Department Advanced Materials Research Center (CIMAV) -Chihuahua, Mexico